Free/ Very Low Cost Web Hosting for Non-Profits

My wife recently became the director of a small non-profit organization – a senior center.

We’d like to set up a web site to consolidate info about the place etc. But their budget is very tight and many things are competing for the limited funds.

So does anyone know where we could find a free or very, very cheap web hosting service for the site?

Here is one specifically targeted to NPOs. $4.95/month.

GoDaddy.com has spectacular low-level hosting packages for just $3.60/mo (price goes down the more months you buy at a time)

I say they’re spectacular because I just started work on a Web site for a friend (I’m a professional Web designer and run a Web hosting business) and he uses GoDaddy as a host. I was really amazed at all of the services and features they offer for that price.

Cool.

Thank you for your veery quick responses I appreciate that.
More responses are welcome. I will proceed to investigate.

A second for Godaddy. They. Are. Awesome. I do some web publishing on the side and now host about 6 pages through them. When I started, I didn’t know jack shit and don’t know much more now. IME They have little problem spoon feeding newb web folks through DIY hosting issues.

Take a look at google:

Google Apps

Their webpage hosting is free, and pretty good. But it is very basic, you can only choose from 2 or 3 layouts, and about 50 different looks (colours/fonts/etc). Its really easy to get going, just type in whatever text and upload pictures which it resizes/crops/etc for you.

The only cost is registering a domain name, but this is cheap $10/year or so.

You also get all the other neat google stuff in the one package, such as gmail for any e-mail accounts you want to set up, which will be yourname@yourdomain.com - not just someone@gmail.com

Was just clicking around there and saw this: I’m a non-profit organization. Is there an edition of Google Apps for me?