Getting my 90 year old mother into assisted living

She’s stubborn, still living alone, and still driving–it’s the scariest thing you’ll meet on the highway, my mother.

I’ve been working on her for a couple of years to give up her car and move into assisted living. This week she had a blood pressure spike and ended up in the ER. She won’t listen to me, I’m just ‘the daughter’. I’ve finally stopped being straightforward and I’m going behind her back.

I’ve outed her to the Medical Board of the DMV to call her in for an in person driver’s license test, and I called her doctor to get a social worker through Medicare to go make an evaluation of her home. I’ve got her friends, and relatives talking about what a good idea it is to move into assisted care.

She’s still lucid, takes care of her bills and so on, but suffers from home break in paranoia and won’t let me take care of her bills.

I’m at my wits end. She won’t move where I live, and my family want her to stay in place. Right now as a friend put it, something like a car accident or a preventable fall in the home will happen and then she won’t have any choice.

Just venting, but ideas welcome.

Do I understand that you don’t live in her town? How about the other members of the family, the ones who want her to stay in place? Because if and when something happens, the ones living closest to her will be the ones who end up with the responsibility.

FWIW, there are a whole lot of seniors who hear the phrase “assisted living” and interpret it as “trapped in a nursing home, covered in bed sores and left to die.”

In the meantime, for someone who’s “still lucid” and still able to get around (even if she’s no longer able to drive) there are all sorts of levels of home care options, from meals on wheels a couple of times a week to live-in care. You might have better luck getting her to have someone come in than asking her to uproot herself.