Greetings! It is I, brujaja, now relegated to the lesser designation of OGbrujaja because technology sucks sometimes!

There was this guy. We fell in love and got together and went through all kinds of things both hellish and beautiful, being homeless/living in his airstream trailer, from which he had torn out the bathroom and kitchen to make room for his drums. (yes, I know) We were together a few years and then we broke up because these things can’t last. But you never really stop loving somebody and after a long time we were able to be friends again, ultimately closer than ever.

So here I am several years later, doing what I do for a living which is taking care of older and disabled folks. I am steadily trying to be a better person and I have always worked really hard for my clients because it’s my nature and besides, they all become like family to me. This one lady, when I started a year and a half ago her husband of several decades had just died and her house was filthy from years and years of hoarding and lassitude. There were two whole rooms that were packed tight with stuff, filled literally floor to ceiling, that it took me months to clean out.

Her husband passed right before COVID hit and so she’s been almost completely isolated for a year and a half because of the lockdown. Also she just got out from under the thumb of a “helper” who was really restrictive and mean. She’s just pining away and telling me how lonely she is constantly; me and the other woman are all she ever sees. So I’m thinking, poor lady, she just wants a little fun, she wants to hang out with some people who aren’t squares or stodgy and just be herself. So one day while I’m at work my guy friend calls and I say, why don’t you come over and say hello? You understand, he’s ten years older than me, and she’s twenty years older than me. So I never ever thought…