Help - I don't like my new dog

Sorry this is so long, I’m not good at being concise.

A few months ago I posted a question here asking Can you love two dogs equally? In a nutshell, I have a current dog who I am crazy about, and was looking at getting a second, but concerned that I would ever be able to love another dog as much as my first one. Dog 1, let’s call him Spot, is a chihuahua, which I have wanted since I was very young and my sister had one.

We got Spot in a pet store last August, mainly because we had been there looking for a particular breed of cat. My husband wanted a cat and we knew that Russian Blues didn’t bother my allergies, so we went there to buy a cat. They had chihuahuas too, and Spot was the only one there. So there wasn’t a big decision process - I wanted a chihuahua, they had a chihuahua, and I thought, “I guess he’s kinda cute” so I bought him. I realize now that buying from a pet store is a bad thing, but what’s done is done, and I will not get another dog from a pet store again.

I have OCD and major anxiety issues, and the night we brought Spot home I had a major freak out. I had never owned a dog before, and the idea of all the work involved scared me. I told my husband that I had made a mistake and would need to turn Spot into an animal shelter. He encouraged me to give it time, so I took a Xanax and went out for a little while to buy some supplies from PetSmart. Then I was feeling a bit better.