Help me rock my left overs

I love to cook, but I always make too much and for some strange reason my kids won’t eat left overs. BUT, I’ve found out that if I use them to make something else they often love it.

So, here is what I have and what I’m thinking… I have some pot roast done in the crock pot… Chuck that is fork tender, probably about 3/4 lb. About 2 cups of vegies from the same meal, carrots, potatoes, and onion… about 2 cups, and the liquid that I strained from the crock pot. I also have about 1/2 lb of rib eye steak and about 1/2 of a baked potato. These are the left overs I don’t want to waste.

I’m thinking about a Vegetable Beef soup. I also have a box each of Vegetable Stock and Beef Stock, a bag of frozen mixed vegetables, Quaker quick barley, and pretty much any spice/herb you can think of. If needed I also have carrots, onion and a large potato.

Here’s what I’m thinking and where I would love some help. I’m a good cook, but any time I ad lib I worry a bit. I’ll put the Beef and Veggie stocks in a large pot along with the saved juices from the pot roast. I’ll add the frozen veggies to this.

I’m thinking some Oregano, Parsley, Basil, Salt and Pepper. Probably a Bay leaf. I’ll have to read the directions for the barley to see when I should add it. I plan to shred the roast and finely chop the rib eye and add them at the end since they are already cooked and just need to be heated. Same with the roast veggies since they are already soft. I’ll cut them finer and add at the end. What I’m not sure about is if I should chop the baked potato and add that… I don’t want to thicken it too much.

So, am I missing anything obvious or is there anything that is screaming out “No!”

Mmmm…the first thing I thought is to cook a couple more potatos and throw everything in to a shepherd’s pie.

You could also make beef hash for breakfast. Top with a couple of eggs.

My first thought was Shepherd’s Pie, but I do love me some beef and barley soup.