Hi. I'm new and I want to know how to debate and engage in conversations on the internet

I’m not sure if this is the right place to post this. I read the sticky, so it seems appropriate.

I’m not really good at socializing on the internet. I’ve been on the internet for a very long time, but I spend most of my time just lurking. It’s really hard for me to discuss on the on the internet. I have so many questions, yet I don’t know how ask them properly so I just give up asking the questions. I’ve never been involved in a debate or a long conversation. Every time I do post something it is usually just a sentence or two and it’s usually something stupid or lacked substance. I can’t even troll good.

I just want to express myself on the internet. I really want to contribute to a discussion, I really want to be part of something. I wanna be a well informed guy who can engage in debate and discussions. I just feel like I’m ignorant and don’t have a voice. In real life I’m able to socialize normally. I don’t know why I’m like this on the internet.

I’m even struggling to make this thread. It’s like I don’t even know what I want. :smack:

Well, you just gotta put yourself out there. You can’t make an omelette unless you break some eggs. Really, all you need to know to be a good poster are these things:
[ul]
[li]The more you interact, the easier it will become.[/li][li]Don’t worry about looking or saying something stupid.[/li][li]Keep an open mind.[/li][li]Don’t be a jerk.[/li][/ul]

Don’t worry about not being able to “troll good”. The Mods take a dim view of it here.

Just watch for a little while and see how others interact. Don’t try and be anything special- you won’t be. And avoid the Pit until you are used to the way the board works.

And remember there are some very strange people on the Internet.

Very strange.