How do you pronounce 'buachaill dána'?

The title is the question.

I figured it was Irish, so I threw it into Google Translate – for those who don’t know the term (like me), it translates to “bold boy.” But, Google Translate doesn’t do Irish pronunciation.

This site has several native Irish speakers pronouncing “buachaill” – depending on the speaker, it sounds kind of like “buh-hoy” (more often) or “buh-hull”, with maybe a bit of a “ch” sound at the start of the second syllable.

I’m no expert on Irish pronunciation, but if no one else is able to help, I do have a couple of Irish friends who have varying levels of mastery of the language, and I can ask them tomorrow.

At first glance —

[bʷɑxəlʲ d̪ʷɑ:n̪ʷə]

You’ll not get very close unless you know something about Gaelic languages. But to English speaker it might sound like

baw-ch’ll daw-nuh

In which the “ch” indicates a sound as in Scottish loch or German ach

Interesting that the labialization of the consonant seems to more affect the vowel.

Exactly as it’s spelled. :wink:

You’ve got some excellent guidance from previous posters but I would suggest boo-ch’ll dhaw-nuh would approximate the first vowel more closely.

Your observation about how the broad/slender consonant distinction (not labialisation) is perceived as a difference in vowel quality is very interesting.

I’m not entirely sure what you mean.

First, the consonants aren’t labialised. In Irish, every consonant is paired, with a palatalised (“slender” or Y-colored) and a velarised (“broad” or W-colored) version.

Second, I’m not seeing where you see it changing the vowel. The basic vowel quality doesn’t change except that sometimes palatalisation inserts a [j] glide before the vowel.

Unfortunately, I can’t read that.

Interesting. Those are what I would have guessed. Thanks.