How to deal with this backhanded compliment?

The title is probably not a good description of this; in truth I’m not even sure I should feel irked by the comment at all. Maybe I’m being too sensitive.

Anyway. The issue in brief: a person with whom I’ve been sort of becoming internet friends with for the past few months (through message board interaction and email) asked me for some more info about myself, since though we’ve interacted for months, I’m usually doing the question-asking in our email exchanges. (I tend to become a virtual Barbara Walters with other people, preferring to deflect focus to others rather than on me.)

The friend–whom I’ll call Chris to keep the gender neutral–already did know some of my background; where I’m from, religion (I don’t remember how that came up… oh, I think at one point I mentioned it was Passover so I was visiting some relatives), what I do for a living, etc. But Chris was curious about other stuff, like whether I’m married, siblings, etc.

I gave some extra info, and just for fun as a shortcut, I directed Chris to my bio on a social media site for readers/writers, where my pic is. And now we come to this thread’s raison d’etre:

Chris responded with (among other perfectly fine comments): “You’re very pretty! Somehow I thought you’d look more Jewish. You know, with harder facial features.” This was folllowed with a joke about another female Jewish friend, this one with a large nose, who dumped her boyfriend when he said she shouldn’t get a nose ring because her nose was huge enough.

Now… I swear I’m not the type to see anti-semitism everywhere. And Chris is a nice person, and I don’t think there was any insult intended.

Still, when I read that 1-2 punch of “You’re very pretty! I thought you’d look more Jewish…” which can certainly be taken a couple of different ways, I felt a bit sick. And definitely disappointed in Chris.