I just finished my first college radio show...

and it went pretty well, all things considering.

As most of y’all know, I’m a freshman communications/journalism major at Shippensburg University. My emphasis is in broadcasting. While it’s expected that we get involved with the campus media, it’s not a requirement. Lots of people don’t do it. I choose to do it because I’m doing this as a career change, and I need all the experience I can get. Participating in radio and television is a good way to get this experience.

So I have a radio show on WSYC, Ship’s 100-watt FM radio station. It’s Saturday night, from 8-10 p.m. I do it with a grad student, but since I’m the undergrad, I’m ultimately responsible for the content and making sure everything goes down smoothly.

Tonight was the premiere. Normally, we would just program the music and stuff into a laptop computer and plug that into the board. However, that’s not possible yet. So we had four CDs to program a two-hour show. Fortunately, three of them were compilation CDs, so it’s not the end of the world. I think we had a good variety tonight. Lots of 80s, one Tom Waits track, and some 70s and 90s. The cool thing about college radio is that you can try different things, so Tom Waits felt more or less at home with 80s bubble-gum pop.

I am pleased to say that the show went off well. There was some dead air because I’m not familiar enough with the equipment to really make it work quickly. And I need to learn when to shut up. :wink: But all in all, it was good. When we get our act together a little more, and the station is finished making its improvements, we’ll be great.

Sadly, we don’t webcast yet, but the university is working on it. So when that happens, I’ll let you know so y’all can listen to me make an ass of myself on the radio. :wink:

Robin

Way to go, MsRobyn! I worked in college radio many moons ago. I had the time of my life. It’ll get easier over time and you might just get hooked.