I may be new, but I'm no one's puppet.

I’ve been lurking on the SD boards for a few weeks now, and I’ve seen many threads that I’ve found interesting, but I’ve only posted a couple of times. Why? Well… it seems to me that one’s number of posts has a fairly substantial effect on how one gets treated around here. I’m a little worried that, even if I go to the trouble to make a detailed, rational argument, or response, or what-have-you, that a lot of people are going to just look at my post count and move on by without giving me a second thought.

So, just for the record, everyone: Yes, I am a newbie here. No, I am not a sock puppet (I’m sensitive enough to rejection that if I got booted, I’d probably never show my face again… and certainly not just for the sake of being annoying, which seems to be the main reason for puppetry). I’m not a troll, either (at least, I’d never be one intentionally). I’m just a plain ol’ newbie who’s read the Straight Dope for years, and wants to be given a chance to prove he can contribute.

To get introductions out of the way: My name, as you can see, is Calredic–it has no deep signifigance; it’s just a cooler-sounding version of my real name. I’m 23, and am one semester away from a probably-not-very-useful degree in English. I’m very pleased to make all of your acquaintances; I hope that you’ll all be just as pleased to make mine. If I ever do or say something stupid or inappropriate, please let me know, as it will almost definitely be unintentional on my part. That’s all I really wanted to say here. Thanks for reading!

–Calredic, newbie

Pleased to meetcha. Cool name - at least the way I pronounce it. :slight_smile:

trisha

Pleased to meet you, too, jazzmine! I’m glad you like my name… just out of curiosity, though, how are you pronouncing it? The only two variants I can think of are “Sel-redik” and “Kal-redik,” the latter being the intended pronunciation. But hey, as long as no one misspells it, it’s all the same to me! :wink: