I need to figure out how to surprise my SO

All right, so I’m spending this weekend with my SO. For some reason somewhat outside of the sphere of mortal understanding, I feel the need to surprise him with something/by doing something. Thing is, though, I’m pretty new to the even-marginally-conventional dating scene, so I can’t think of a surprise. Or even what realm an appropriate surprise would be in.

So, basically, I’m asking for suggestions, both mundane and risque. The only limitations are that he now has a roommate, so no all-day-love-fests (though a multi-hour one is doable, or a quiet one), and that I’m a bit on the broke side, so it can’t cost more than about 20 bucks to pull off. And, um, it can’t be from a “specialty” shop. 'Cause I don’t know where there are any.

Additionally, since he’s a guy, the things I know of as the conventional “awwww” gifts–flowers, chocolate, etc.–don’t seem appropriate somehow. Kind of like trying to figure out what to give a guy for Valentine’s day.

I suppose this could serve as a general “what to get guys as romantic gifts” thread. Graz!

As a guy, I like flowers and chocolates :wink:

As for surprises, it’s hard to say without detailed information.

Put on his favorite music, open a bottle of Suava Bolla, light scented candles and take a bath with him. Later, tickle his back while he goes to sleep.

Perhaps a pair of silkie boxers that have been folded into a rose (I’ve seen those at checkout counters in the States), bottle of wine and a nice dinner? For you - or the both of you - hows about a silkie nighty?

And yes, guys do (can) appreciate the choccies and flowers as well… They just don’t like to admit it in front of their guy friends…

Hope you have a nice weekend.

Just kick him in the nuts and then yell ‘Suprise’.

Trust me, he will be suprised.

As a nice surprise your should just follow the consecutive thread titles I found when opening your thread.

I need to figure out how to surprise my SO