I would prefer to live in a homogeneous neighbourhood, am I evil?

With regards to tim314 for a good OP name. Inspired by some parts of the hatred for suburbs thread.

I am a young professional and once I get off work at night I don’t wan’t to come home to a melting pot of sights smells and sounds. I want to walk on a well trimmed lawn past familiar looking neighbors that I only need to exchange the formal greetings with. I resolve that such wishes do not make me racist or evil, even if me having my way may have a negative impact on minorities and disadvantaged people living else where. What do other dopers think?

i think i want to move to your neighborhood, borrow a tool from ward cleaver, and be the guy who mows his lawn in hawaiian shirt with a pith helmet every saturday morning at exactly 8 o’clock. i think i’ve actually talked to my neighbors a total of 3 times in the last 4 yrs, and that was only when i got some of thier mail. i love it that way. wouldnt change a thing.

That this is an April Fool’s thread?

i’d like to think that there is at least one other person that likes homogeneous neighbourhoods… i would be sad if it was an AF joke…

I don’t see why not wanting to be burdened with vapid social custom is evil. If the neighbor’s a friend, chat with him all you like. If he’s not, a cordial nod or wave should be sufficient with no need for anything more, including getting invited to tedious barbecues and dinner parties and whatnot, just to be neighborly.

If you mean “people who look like you,” then yes, that would appear to be racist or prejudiced in a similar fashion. If you mean something else, “familiar looking” needs to be more clearly defined.

What’s this have to do with homogeneity? It sounds like a stereotype about white people being polite and quiet, compared with ethnics being loud.