IC (chip) naming

Some chips (like the 555 timer or the LM317 voltage regulator) are produced by various mfgs. but the name will always be the same or some slight variation.

Why is that and why does the original mfg allow others to copy the name? Have these chips become “generic”?

You can copy the external functionality but not the internals. And a number can’t be copyrighted.
So you could produce the Dog80555®™ chip, with specified functions as described in your data sheet.
One may or may not be a drop-in replacement for the other, depending on application.

I’m not a lawyer, but I’ve spent some time working with IC chips.

This is the reason (I was told anyway) that Intel changed their naming scheme from 286, 386, 486, etc. to Pentium.

The name is not the same. Each manufacturer has their own name and data sheet which is not necessarily exactly the same as the first one and one manufacturer will probably have more than one version. See for example 555 timer IC - Wikipedia

How about the LM317 (and others) then? The chip name is identical between mfgs.

Read further, the numbers will have additional codes. LM317A vs LM317lite vs some other number.
Everybody wants their product to stand out from the other guy’s.

(And I think National might have ‘given away’ certain numbers long ago. There’s some sort of vague memory in the back of my mind, maybe something will remember itself to me later)

For a long time, National had a monopoly on their prefix naming convention:
LM = Linear Monolithic
LF = Linear FET
LH = Linear Hybrid

Other manufacturers could make pin-compatible devices, and give them the same number, but they wouldn’t have the same prefix (TI would use UA, Fairchild KA, Motorola MC, etc.) It’s only in the last decade or so that some manufacturers are using nearly identical part numbers. I’m not sure what has changed.