In which I angrily explain that my SO is not fucking abusive...(long)

Okay. I currently have a rather nasty lump right on my forehead and a black eye. Great, I’m a martial artist, stuff like this is kind of common in my sport.

I’m explaining to a friend in chemistry class today how, exactly, this happened - I was sparring with my boyfriend, who is a 3rd degree black belt at our school, and was being careless. Friend from chemistry is also a martial artist, and thus, she Gets It: if you participate in a combat sport, you will occasionally, say, get conked in the head or throw a kick wrong. You learn what works, in part, by learning what doesn’t work.

Great, so it’s no big deal, right?

Only the girls - three horrendously died-blonde, cheerleading, bubble-gum chewing, intelligence-depleting girls - sitting behind us didn’t Get It. They were partially eavesdropping, and doing a shitty job at it. Listening to only key words, apparently. I’m about to tell my friend about how boyfriend and I were going to enjoy a quiet evening focused around dinner and the tape of Wednesday’s West Wing episode at his house, because I wasn’t up to working out or really teaching tonight.

And then, I hear the voice.

“Your boyfriend gave you a black eye?”

Oh, god. Here it comes. I was really dreading this - he’s far better at sparring than I am, doesn’t use kid gloves. I knew that I would, at some point, need to explain that while yes, my boyfriend beat me up, it’s really Not Like That. “Um, yeah. We were sparring, and he…”

“You were fighting with him?”

“Yeah, see, we’re both black belts, and…”

“He’s a black belt? And he hit you?”

Sigh. “Listen, we’re both black belts. We were sparring, at our gym. Training. I let my guard down, and he hit me. That’s what you do when you spar.”

“He hit you?”