In which Picker explains his recent absence from the boards (M&P, to be sure)

Howdy fellow Dopers!

It’s been several months since I’ve even had a chance to look at the Dope, let alone contribute, but things are finally settling down to the point where I could at least poke my head in here and say hi.

I’m not exactly the most prolific of posters anyway, so I’m not sure how many of you noticed my absence, but if you’ve read this far, you might care, so here’s the lowdown:
As some of you know, I’m a professional flatpicker out of Madison. I’d been rehearsing a new group for about six months before we started playing out in March. I’m pretty sure that’s about when I was last on the boards.

Since then, things have just been flat out crazy. Out of deference to the board’s non-promotional nature, I will omit the name of the group (speaking of which, while we didn’t use any of the names suggested in the contest I held a ways back, I still owe a couple of you a CD - I’ve been waiting to send you guys some studio stuff, which is well underway and should be released late summer).

The band is working better than I could have possibly hoped - four part harmonies to die for, I’m picking better than ever, and my mandolin player is all could ever hope for as a picker and a timekeeper. But what’s blowing my mind is the songs - I’ve been writing for years, but nothing that ever compares to the writing we’re doing with this group. To say I’ve died and gone to my version of musical heaven would be an understatement. I’ve got two labels that have tendered offers on the new record, and we’ve signed an endorsement deal with a small craft brewery out of Spring Green, WI - who I will pimp here - Lake Louie Craft Brews - some of the best beer I’ve ever tasted (although it’s only produced in VERY small batches, if you ever find some, for god’s sake try it)