Is doing a PhD in IT worth it?

I graduated from uni in Computer Science at the end of 2002. I was offerred a PhD scholarship at the time, and very nearly accepted it, but at the last minute turned it down and entered the workforce.

I’ve now been working for two and a half years, and have been wondering lately if I should re-apply for that PhD scholarship. The PhD program would take at least 3 years to complete, and I’d start at the beginning of 2006, which would mean I’d be at least 28 when I finish. More likely, I’d be 29. Either way, it seems a very late age to finish studying full-time.

But the PhD is still tempting. I don’t regret not accepting the scholarship after graduating, as I learnt a lot about IT from entering the work force - far more than I’d learn at any uni. But while I learnt plenty in the first year or so of working, it seems my current company has taken me as far as it can, and I’m definitely ready to leave, whether that be to go back to uni or to another job.

I find my current job challenging, but often for the wrong reasons, if that makes sense. It’s often difficult because I’m struggling to understand someone else’s poorly written code, or because I’m trying to track down a problem in thousands of lines of code with very little to go on, on where the problem lies. If I were doing a PhD, it would obviously be challenging, but it’d be so for the right reasons - the work I’d be doing would (hopefully) be groundbreaking and technically difficult, as opposed to what I’m doing now. And to me that’s quite appealing.