Is it weird that I don't want to share this board with my SO?

I’ve been posting here for nearly 15 years. And over those years I’ve dumped a lot of emotional garbage here. As ironic as it sounds, this public message board is very personal to me. I don’t know, I just want my own space where I can go and get an objective view on many of life’s ponderings.

In your opinion, is that bad that I want this place to myself? FTR: She has no desire to join nor does she even know about this place. I haven’t lied to her or anything, just never mentioned this place to her. Still though, I do feel a tinge of guilt.

Not weird at all, sometimes we need to be able to dump our thoughts someplace without fear of having it brought up IRL later, no matter the intention.

I’ve always treated forums like my local bar, friendly chat, good debate, and occasionally, a place to vent. Unlike a the local bar, where things are said and done, in forum/written format they linger.

Grrr!–you are Fred Flintstone, & the SDMB is the Water Buffalo Lodge.
See.
Simple.

you just want a little space.

Think of boards like this one as a type of reactive journal. You can explore what you’re thinking among well-meaning anonymous people who may or may not have something useful to offer you. I’ve always thought journals were a bit pointless as one already knows what one thinks, after all. But here you may be validated, shot down, even ridiculed, and you run no risk of seeing any of us tomorrow at the office or the grocery store.

As such, keep it to yourself. It’s not cheating any more than writing a journal would be.

I don’t keep the SDMB secret from my husband, and occasionally share some of it with him. But he couldn’t care less about being here himself.

Although my hub doesn’t share my passion for the Dope, I’m grateful that I don’t have to share. I’m even careful which friends I tell about the board.