Is there ever any appropriate way to hit on a coworker?

So as a preface, let me just say it seems like the “safe” answer is probably no.

But we have a person who started at the company I just started at at the same time as me. She’s cute, interesting, and we ended up working together on an IT problem she had for like… an hour, and got to talking. She’s very friendly, and I’d like to ask her on a date, but I’m not sure if this is appropriate or not, or under what circumstances.

(She’s in a different department, but given that I work in IT, chances are good we’d have something to do with each other eventually. Which seems potentially bad.)

I’m sure you will get a lot of negative answers but I just want to say that I met my husband when we worked together and I was his boss! (Actually there were two of us supervising his department so I let the other boss write his reviews.) We began dating soon after he came to work for the company, and after 34 years we are still together and have been married for maybe 10 years (neither of us can remember what year we married and we can’t find the license, so…). Just letting you know that although there are a lot of reasons it might be a bad idea, it does not have to be.

The answer is obviously yes, since many, many married couples met at work. Do you get to leave your desk for lunch? That’s a much less romantic time than a “date” and you could really get a better idea if this is something she’d want to pursue – grab lunch together, talk about whatever, and get a feel for whether she’s interested. If so, then maybe do that again, or get coffee – if she keeps agreeing to get together to hang, maybe suggest a couple of drinks after work. I would go that way than going right to a “date” – keep it more casual and closer to work oriented at first.

If she continues to show interest, then, sure, see if she wants to go out to dinner or show or whatever you have in mind. If she says no, then back off.