Is this obnoxious? Attempted veteran preference.

So a guy has an ad posted on our community bulletin board: “Veteran looking for someone to shovel his driveway.”

For the life of me, I can’t figure out what difference it makes that you’re a veteran, if you need your driveway shoveled out?!? Is he somehow seeking preferred treatment? If I shovel out driveways, do I care if you’re a veteran?

Your thoughts are welcome…

Perhaps the person in question has a physical disability due to their service and believe, almost certainly rightfully, that people looking to help someone during the holidays would give preferential treatment to veterans? YOU might not care if they are a veteran or not, but not all people would feel the same. As a veteran myself it’s a bit uncomfortable sometimes with all the public acknowledgments of service, but it’s a real thing in the US today, so it’s not really that incomprehensible someone might underscore that in such an ad.

I wouldn’t, but I can see how some would.

Is he looking to pay someone to shovel his driveway, or is he hoping someone will come and do it for free because he’s a veteran?

Because if he’s looking to hire and pay someone, then I don’t see what it matters if he’s a veteran or not. I think people looking to get paid for shoveling driveways aren’t super concerned if the person paying them served in the military or not.

If he’s looking for someone to volunteer their time for free, then saying he’s a veteran will probably help. People looking to help out their neighbors/community without compensation may be more inclined to help out a veteran.

But is it obnoxious? I think so, but I’m an ass who is much more likely to feel my veteran status entitles me to shovel your fucking driveway so stand aside sissypants.

Yeah, its obnoxious. But , maybe, just maybe the vet didn’t put the notice there. It could’ve been his daughter or his friend. They would be more willing to use the sympathy card. I think.