It keeps going, and going, and going...

I searched through past topics, and I didn’t find anything on this, so I’m asking…

How often have you received bills after you’ve paid off your credit card, student loan, mortgage…etc? It just happened to me again–twice on the same day. I got two bills for credit cards that I’ve paid off completely. They included the dire warnings about my credit rating plummeting, warned me that interest is continuing to accrue, and that they would turn it over to a collection agency if I didn’t pay up.
I called one of them. The woman was nice about it, but she told me that “payments are handled by another division, (wtf?), and they’re closed until Monday,” and that I should call them on Monday.
Ok, I will. But it burns me that I have to waste my time looking up copies of cancelled checks just to straighten their books.
I’m wondering if there’s anything else I can do to make sure that it doesn’t happen anymore.

PS- I’m a newbie still flushed with the excitement of locating this forum.

:::Placing right hand on monitor:::

I will uphold the high traditions of intellectual discourse that I’ve witnessed. I shall endeavour not to evidence troll-like behavior. I’ll cite references whenever I can. So help me Cecil.

" <— My own personal quote. I call him Doug.

Rysdad:::Placing the wrong hand on the monitor:::

You’re right!

I will remember to place the correct hand on the monitor.

I will remember to place the correct hand on the monitor.

I will remember to…

A few questions before I WAG:

Were the warnings normal credit-card statements? Or the “Fourth Notice, Vito Will Now Cut Your Kneecaps Off” type?

Were you delinquent? (sorry, it’s a legit term. Not trying to impugn your childhood :))

Were you trying to cancel the account?

-andros-

“Listen Children Eternal Father Eternally One!” Exceptions? None!
-Doc Bronner

No, I wasn’t delinquent; they weren’t “Final Notice - Now You Must Die” things.