Karaoke song with smallest vocal range

I’ve got a vocal range of about a half an octave. If I ever get brave enough to do karaoke, what is a classic pop/rock/folk tune with a super small vocal range?

Cat’s in the Cradle is a fairly narrow range.

The question is, where is your range? I can recommend some for a low female/high male… but I can think of others in other ranges.

That would work. I kind of sound like Pavarotti if he got kicked in the nuts.

Can you get a couple of backup singers and do “Big Bad John” by Jimmy Dean? Jimmy’s vocal stylings lean more toward “talking” than “singing”, really. Still a good song.

“At the bottom of this mine lies a big, big man.”

Tubthumping (a song that I deeply hate, but never mind) is sung all within about 6 notes, and the majority of the song is two notes within a semitone of each other. Hard to do better than that :slight_smile:

Anything written for the leads in “My Fair Lady” or “Camelot.” Or anything by Tom Waits.

I’m no music expert, so i don’t know what its actual note spread is, but one crowd-pleaser that my limited vocal range can cope with is Neil Diamond’s Sweet Caroline.

How about “Take a Walk On the Wild Side” sung by Lou Reed?

The B-52’s is almost speaking, you need perfect timing though

The best example I found is in French, but still:

The One Note Samba

It may be a small range, but not many can hit those notes at all without sounding like a complete tool.

My tiny little range can always handle Patti Smith songs. I usually do Because the Night or Gloria.

Are Madness popular in America? Their songs are pretty easy to sing; sometimes you have to go really fast, but if your voice is neither particularly low or high and your range is small, then they’re a good shot.

These Boots Are Made For Walking is a very easy song that’s available at most karaoke venues.

The Devil Went Down to Georgia is one of my staple Karaoke songs just because of the limited vocal range - I’m not much of a singer.