Kinks fans: Any good post-1972 albums?

I’ve been listening to the Kinks for more than 20 years now and recently added some of their earlier records to my collection, so that now I have all their regular albums up to “Everybody’s in Show-Biz” (except the “Percy” soundtrack). Though not each of those albums is a masterpiece like “Village Green” or “Face to Face”, I think that it’s an impressing run for first ten albums by a band.

I got into the Kinks’ music after reading an essay about them by musician/Kinks fan Heinz Rudolf Kunze, who was very critical with their post 1972 output, especially their rock opera phase from 73-76. I’m still biased against their later work because of this essay, and the reviews on allmusic.com didn’t do much to change that.

On the other hand, I admire the Kinks’ early music so much that I think there must be some value in their later output, and I really like the few songs of this phase that I know (“Father Christmas”, “Prince of the Punks”, “Come dancing”).

So, which (if any) later Kinks albums can you recommend?

If you like “Come Dancin’”, then I think you’ll like the "State of Confusion " CD. It is a mix of material of which “Come Dancin’” almost doesn’t fit. It is one of maybe two softer songs. To me, the CD has a common thread where the songs examine life at various ages. The songs run the gamut from the sublime to the ridiculous…but it all works very nicely, I think. It’ll make you think about your life and the stages you’ve moved through, too!