Knitting Question

Hi - I recently bought some ribbon “yarn”, just cause it was so pretty. Well, now I’m looking for suggestions on what to make with it. A little bag perhaps? I’m not good at making up a pattern as I go along so any help/ideas from you knitting dopers - I know you’re out there; I’ve lurked your threads - would be appreciated.
Thanks in advance.

Scarves are the all-purpose answer to novelty yarns… but if you want to make a bag, maybe try the Booga Bag (pattern free–google it) or find a pattern on the Lion Brand website.

Booga Bag would be good, but you should probably skip the felting part. I don’t think most ribbon yarns felt.

Knitting bags using narrow strips of fabric[quarter to half-inch wide] is/was very poplular. Don’t see why you couldn’t use your ribbon. You won’t get the frayed look, since ribbons almost always have finished edges. You’ll need an awful lot though. I hefted one of them once, and they’re heavier than they look. The bags I’ve seen have dowels at the top edges to provide a bit of stability. You might be able to dispense with those if you knit fairly tightly, or if you make a round one. Good luck.

I don’t think I’d recommend the booga bag pattern for ribbon yarn; it’s not knit densely enough for the bag to support itself.

If it’s a varicolored ribbon yarn, I’d recommend the Multidirectional Diagonal scarf available here: http://douma.net/Karen/knitting/Accessory-Scarves/Multidirectional_Diagonal_Scarf.htm

Or try knitty (http://www.knitty.com/) and see if any of the bag patterns there appeal to you.