Lab supplies and the Cow-supply-woman

As mentioned in a previous my job and the mental/emotional pain this job generates thread… I’m a lab tech. A lab tech 1.5 years out of college, a lab tech who by and large has no idea what the flying, jesus-cum-encrusted-fuck I’m doing.

This makes itself readilly apparent when I get a variety of things accomplished, like:

Lab cleaning – Leave doors unlocked, leave note… lab is still dirty

Equipment repair – Must get purchase order BEFORE I call repair dude, to get a purchase order repairs must be UNDER 200$, repair guy won’t know how much it is until he gets out, 200$ cap includes hourly labor bill AND parts. --See the dude who electrocuted himself on the floor of the lab.

Supply Purchasing – We need “X” where is something like ubiquitous and requires hunting around in a catalog for a product number THEN having to find the current price for the item.

I HATE purchasing!

My ‘training’ in supply purchasing is slightly less in depth than my BSL-3 training – Don’t lick the floor – and involves a handwritten note which says Skow x446 and no mutant plants.

Neither of which really enlighten me, nor can I remember the significants of both of those scribbles.

Today I had to order a variety of items…

From Sigma.

I HATE sigma. Look, in the scientific world, while related, chemistry and biology supply catalogs MAKE NO FREAKING SENSE.

Sigma is a chemical supply company. Everything from acrylmide – mmm neurotoxin – to cocain – 98% pure in methanol medical reagent grade at $64.593/mg.

Goddamn Sigma… stupid fucking catalog! It’s in alphabetical order, which is nice. It has a product number index in the back. However what I need to order is a) lacking product numbers, because some nameless ass speluncker tossed the bottle and didn’t write down the number or b) product has been discontinued or c) I was told to order something like ‘xylose’ or some exotic sugar for some experiment involving stuff.