mid life crisis

I recently came across
this link

Which is relevent because…

Since early childhood, I loved computers. Before I got an IT degree, I detoured for some years, due to drug abuse, travelling etc. Then after I got my degree, I travelled some more. I eventually returned home to my small country and I eventually got a job in programming.

It was a long road to qualification, and just before I got qualified, I found skydiving. I love jumping, it’s the one thing in over thirty years that puts a genuine smile on my face.

People can’t believe the change in me when I’ve come back from jumping, I’m a completely different person. Happy, where before I was withdrawn, quiet etc.

The article I linked to talks about a study where “…the reward circuitry in their brain gives them less satisfaction than normal…”

That is ringing serious alarm bells for me. I’ve always had the feeling that I don’t get the same out of life that other people do. That I have to really push hard to get happy - eg jumping is a pretty extreme thing to do to get a smile on your face.

So I’m 33 years old now and I’m really sick looking at computers. I would even go so far as to say I wish that I’d never seen one!

I have no idea what else I would do with my life. There aren’t many opportunities in my country and I’d love to just take off again somewhere, but that just smacks of running away from my problems. Although that said, I’ve still got the travel bug.

This all came to a head recently. Events in my life highlighted that I’ve been sleepwalking towards 40 with nothing to show for it. I’ve been away from jumping for some years now and I’ve set myself the goal of getting my wings back by December - I’m off to Spain for one last tango with altitude!