Newbies Study Social Media

Okay as a newbie myself I have to say I have enjoyed whole heatedly when a newbie joins, you guys are pretty funny. So I was wondering whats up with newbies who say hi I am here, then run away or become lurkers, is it just premature ejaculation on their part? and on a more serious note has anyone done a study on newbies and their mysterious disappearance after their intro? or newbies and hazing?

Oops, looks like we just lost another one.

Probably, nobody has conducted such a study. We could MAYBE get a poll going to ask newbies themselves how they felt they were treated upon their self-introductions to the board, and how such treatment affected their attitudes about sticking around, but we would perforce be getting our responses from newbies who DIDN’T mysteriously disappear.

If such a poll were undertaken, it might be instructive to ask the newbies how long they lurked before announcing themselves.

No cite, but in my experience, people who announce themselves as new joiners to a message board right after joining inevitably fade away very quickly.

Those who lurk for a while to get a feel for board culture and so on before contributing are more likely to have staying power.

Anybody who posts a “Hi, I’m new here!” thread is a non-starter and should be ignored.

Not sure a poll would give us anything other than 0 votes, those darn lurkers.

The trouble with these “Hi, I am new here,” posts is that there is very little anyone can reasonably say in response either than a bland “Welcome,” or snark, and more than a tiny handful of welcomes is dull as ditch water, so the thread either dies, or becomes snarky. I think, in a way posting a “Hi, I am new here,” message is a sign that you have not (yet, anyway) quite grasped what the board culture is about. We like some content to get our teeth into here, and we are not all that much concerned with posters as personalities.