Nice pic, Lousy date

I’m talking about me.

I’m on gay.com and someone will IM me, “Nice profile,” we’ll chat for a bit, and if we sense a mutual interest, we set a rendezvous for coffee. We meet, chat, then we leave, and I never hear from him again. I can only think that I’m a lousy date with some glaring defect in my personality.

I have analyzed it over and over again:

Looks? No, my pic is up to date, and guys who meet me say I’m even better-looking in person. Not bragging, just saying I’m confident in the looks department. so the problem has to be

Personality. Clearly, there is something horribly wrong with me that I can’t see.

Is it that I’m a Log Cabin Republican?
Is it because I tend to listen more than talk and I’m comfortable with long stretches of silence? IRL, I’m a very quiet guy, and I’m not good at chit-chat. Friends have told me that I’m too serious, sometimes.

Is it some misanthropic vibe I give off? I admit I’m not a people person, but I really do try to be a mensch.

Is it because I can’t stand Madonna?

I’m not desperate, I’m very happy to be alone and I enjoy solitude. Contrarily, I’m a one-man man and I would very much like to settle down with Mr. Right. However, I don’t think there’s a guy in the DC area who wants anything out of me than a fling in bed. I can get that anytime I want.
I’d like a buddy, a pal, a companion to share my life with.
Someone who likes science fiction, books, movies, hiking, working out at the gym, and Scrabble. I don’t want smokers, alcoholics, workaholics (a whole bunch of them in DC), or
queens. Nothing wrong with them, just not for me. Phsically, I’m not at all demanding. I tend to go for blond guys, but as long as a guy’s not grossly obese, I don’t much care what he looks like. My ideal guy would be muscular with a slight beer gut to give him that blue-collar look I really dig.

Maybe I should just reconcile myself to the fact that I’m an unlovable jerk and just give up on dating.