Objective data and politics

As a scientist, I deal with objective measurements and evaluating significance of data every day. It strikes me that there is almost a necessary slanting of objective data in politics. This leads to a lot of IMHO dumb arguments and conclusions which are demonstratably wrong. The new liberal meme being pushed is that conservatives actively seek to slant this data and “distort the truth” when it doesn’t support their political agenda. As a left-leaning person, I do agree with this, but I am also worried my political bias blinds me to when those on the left do it. So here’s a thread.

I’ll start this thread with what I think is a good example: polling data. There is an endless discussion of the minutiae of polling and poll results, with breathless emphasis put on each new release. It is almost all absolute crap. There is a reason a pollster sets a margin of error – anything within that MOE is statistically insignificant. So if Bush/Kerry is 47/49 with a 4% MOE one day and 49/47 the next, it doesn’t mean that Bush is gaining ground or Kerry is losing it. It means that the poll is within the MOE and this is the only conclusion to be drawn. Invariably, this is not how it is presented – slight poll shifts within the MOE are headline news. A practical consequence of this is the flawed conclusions reached by the media in the 2000 election: they made flawed conclusions based on polls within the MOE and they were wrong.

This has happened elsewhere, but I have limited knowledge of these. I start this thread to raise these points, not because I can effectively argue them but because I want them discussed and I want to change how we evaluate data in this country. Here are some things that I would like to see discussed here.