Offensive, thoughtless, or innocent comment?

OK, brief history. I had back surgery when I was 20 (I’m 29 now). It went OK, but I now have a lot of bad problems with my back. I have chronic pain and am always in and out of doctors offices and physical therapy trying to get better. It got so bad I can’t work full time- this is not a good thing for me. Each time I lose a piece of my life (working full time, being able to perform tasks, etc) I end up depressed. I’ve got issues with the whole mess. (Yes, I’m seeking counseling).

I am meeting with a new vendor this week. (I am a Systems Administrator) He e-mailed me yesterday asking to come by tomorrow. I mailed back today to confirm, but he said that since no one got back to him yesterday, they already changed his schedule. Could we do it on Friday instead? Here is a copy of the exchange we had:

Now, I know in my heart of hearts that he has NO IDEA why I work this schedule and how it affects me. I KNOW THAT. But still, it aggrivates me no end! To me it implies that I’m less of a worker (or a person) because I work light hours, or that I sit around the rest of the time drinking beer and slacking. I know that isn’t true, but no matter how much I tell myself NOT to get aggrivated at this type of thing, every time it comes up I do.

So my opinion question is this: I’ve heard this sort of comment SO MUCH since I started working light, I want to understand the motivation. Would you make a comment like this to someone, and if so- why? Is working so bad to you that you would wish for an illness to get out of it? (I had someone tell me he would gladly trade places with me, knowing full well my situation).

Do people say things like this out of the need to be offensive, because they’re thoughtless, or is it an innocent comment and I need a check-up from the neck-up?

Zette