Okay, this political correctness shit has got to stop.

I’m a business consultant and I meet a lot of different types of people. I’m well aware of topics I shouldn’t talk about with clients like religion and politics. And I know there are certain words or terms I can’t utter simply because I don’t want to get fired or sued. Keeping my mouth shut isn’t easy for a guy like me, but I’ve managed to do it for 15 years now.

Then there was today…

I was talking to a manager from my own company. He works in another division so I don’t see him very often. We were talking about how difficult it was to get the company health plan to pay certain bills. They make you call this number, then that number, then send this form in, then that form in. Then, just when you think they’ll pay, POOF, they loose your claim and you’re back to chasing them around again.

I said it’s like chasing Lucky for his bowl of Lucky Charms.

That pissed him off. It was a pleasant conversation until I said that. It seems 300 years ago his ancestors came to America from Ireland, and me making a comment about a kids cereal commercial which contains a leprechaun is a slur about Irish people and is no different than calling a black person a you know what and so on. I said all that?

Leprechauns are mythical beings. What’s next? Am I going to offend someones ancestory by saying something about unicorns? If I say something about Santa Clause am I offending people who live at/near the North Pole?