Otherside by the Red Hot Chili Peppers

Im not a musician or that much of a RHCP fan but this song just hits my musical sweet spot. It seems so economical and condensed; not a note wasted and each note perfect. Anthony Keidis (he of a limited vocal range) is perfect here. It is biographical, about that bands former guitarist Hillel Slovak Hillel Slovak - Wikipedia who died of an overdose. John Frusciante guitar work is just perfect. It is a perfect storm of great hook and emotional impact. Yes, this is kinda drunk posting but what a great sing.

RHCP has lots of great sings in my opinion.

I agree. They arent the most talented band out there but they make some really great personal songs.

Certain bands have a “sound” common to all their songs. If I like that sound, I tend to like that band. RHCP is a good example.

I had never thought of it that way but I think you are absolutely right. Their songs really do stand out compared to the other bands of their era.

My Friends played on the radio one day in 1996 when I was in a transitional, emotionally fragile, uncertain yet poignant moment of my life, and I’ve never been able to shake its impact on me.

Yeah, I love that song.

RCHP are a really talented band that can cross the line of selling out or being d*bags, but at their heart deserve respect. Frusciante is such a brilliant guitarist - they were fortunate to have him for as long as they did. He fit right between Flea and Kiedis’ attempts at singing. I find that when an RHCP works, it usually is because Frusciante is adding his unique voice to the song. Otherside features him really well - the lead break is Lindsay Buckingham simple, but really hits the dramatic peak of the song.

I’m a long-time fan of RHCP. Here’s a good quality live performance of Otherside.

Every time I listen to RHCP I enter some kind of trancelike concentration so I can appreciate all the parts. IMO the sum of those parts is transcendent in many of their songs.