(Personal, Advice) Stress!!

I’m a third year university student with something of a conundrum: For the past 3 years I’ve been something of an exam crammer. I dick-around till a day or two before the exam, and then try to funnel as much information through my hippocampus as possible. It would be an incredibly stressful day or two, and sometimes it worked and sometimes it didn’t.

Still, I’ve always been told that cramming is bad, so this year, as part of my self-improvement regimen, I decided to try and spread out my studying over a few days. Except now what’s happened is that instead of being super-stressed for 1 or 2 days, I’ve been stressed for the past 4 days. And I don’t deal with it well.

For example, last night I spent 8 hours in bed, of which 6 of them were spent asleep. The first hour was spent tossing and turning - I was exhausted, and trying not to think about stressful things, but my heart was racing nonetheless due to a current of worries and fears just under my focused thoughts - and I somehow woke up an hour early for work, still exhausted, and couldn’t get back to sleep for that extra 60 minutes.

So I’m perpetually tired and I can’t seem to get a proper night’s rest, and so I can’t get much quality studying done…which of course only worries me more.

Now I find this stress rather useful when I’m doing an assignment, or writing an essay. I find it helps me focus and gets my ideas flowing, and usually my marks reflect this. But just about any examination ends up being below my average.

…now that was very long and perhaps quite boring, but does anyone have any words of sympathy/advice/reproach? How does one learn to deal with stress? Or, maybe, how does one make studying less stressful?