Phone Phobia

Is anyone else here afraid to use the phone? I need to call someone I don’t know very well, and I have a nervous knot in my stomach. It’s weird, because I’m a college instructor and have to speak in front of large (50-100 students) classes regularly and don’t get that nervous doing that, and I have almost no problem walking up to strangers and speaking to them, but put a phone in my hand and I freeze up. I think it’s the fact that I can’t see their facial expressions and that I feel like I’m disturbing them. This problem has had a debilitating effect on my social life for many years.

Anyway, does anyone else have this problem? Or has anyone had it in the past but gotten over it?

I have had this phobia my entire life; when I was a kid I used to run and hide when the phone rang. But with me the phobia is stronger if I have to call someone I know. Total stranger are easier. and I procrastinate a lot about returning calls.

I’m not crazy about calling people I know, either, panache, unless it’s for a specific purpose, such as telling them I’m going to be late (usually for something we arranged via email or text).

I’ve gotten a lot better over the last probably 10 years, but when I was younger, I definitely had the phone phobia too. I still don’t like to use the phone, and I’m really glad that so much can be done online now. I still will procrastinate when I have to make a phone call to make an appointment or whatever, but now that most of that can be done online, it’s soooooooo much better. So I don’t know if I’ve gotten more comfortable making phone calls or if I just don’t have to do it much any more!

But no, you’re definitely not the only one.

Yep,

My therapist couldn’t make heads or tails of it. Hate even doing things like calling for a pizza.

I discussed this with the office manager not long back, and a few interesting things seemed to pop up.