Planning out asset protection early

New to the forums, but have read around a lot in the past. I do recall a few threads in the past about asset protection and remember some forum members offering pretty good advice. Basically, here is my situation. I’m a college student. Landed myself in some trouble when I was younger. I’m now facing a huge lawsuit from the incident. Needless to say, I don’t have any assets, I am dependent on my parents. But lawsuit judgments can obviously be enforced down the road. The lawsuit is in another country, but it given US law, it can be enforced in the United States (though how it can vary from state to state).

I’m not naive; I do understand there is probably no way to be completely 100% bullet proof, but I figure there is some way to get close.

Realistically, is there any way for me to protect assets and such as I begin to acquire them in the future? Would doing so be illegal in any way? I do realize hiding assets in divorces is illegal, but I figure this is a little different (correct me if I am wrong)?

Reported for forum changed.

Even if you have no assets, they can always try to garnishee your wages in order to recover the money.

The OP wants legal advice. Moved from General Questions to IMHO.

samclem, moderator

Buy gold bullion, bury it in the ground?

Probably the simplest way to do this is to declare bankruptcy - but that requires your creditor to press for payment you can’t meet first. The other way would be the Kamikaze defence. Don’t have any assets worth attaching - if you buy a house, mortgage it to the hilt, lease your cars, etc.

Or get a cooperative thrid party to loan you money, you go bankrupt, and all debts are cancelled. This requires a friendly cooperative guy who does not mind “losing” a lot of money, and skirts illegality in some way I’m sure depending on how it’s arranged.