Really odd computer problem (HELP!)

My computer does the strangest thing. I’ll hit the button to turn it on, turn on the monitor and the speakers and nothing happens. The light on the monitor flashes orange as if the computer is not on, the green light on the computer comes on and it sounds like it’s running but the monitor stays black and nothing happens. I then hold the power button til the comp switches off then start again but sometimes I have to do this two or three times before the computer will actually start. I have a gateway that has windows 98 if thats any help. Can someone tell me what’s wrong and/or what to do???

I am an electonic technician, but I work on RF power supplies, not computers. My son is the one who keeps our home network up. We were discussing your question, and we had some thoughts and questions for you:
It could be either the monitor or the video card, or the cable that connects them, or even the power supply. Do you have access to another system to swap components? Have you changed anything on the system recently? Have you had any nearby lightning strikes? Do you have a voltmeter to check the supply voltages? You are hearing the hard drive initializing, but does the computer seem to be continuing to access it afterwards as it normally does on booting up, or does it seem to be sitting idle? In that case it could be the motherboard, the CPU, or again the power supply.

From experience, I would suggest that you open up your computer case and make sure that your CPU is firmly in place.

Also check your memory, but the CPU is the likely cause.

IIRC, Most Gateway computer, when you turn it on, it will turn on the monitor automatically.

I have a computer that used to be a Gateway (I have rearranged it’s guts several times since I bought it, and now all that is Gateway is the case and the monitor), and it never turned on the monitor by itself when you turned in the computer…