Recommend a hotel or B&B in Paris

My husband and I are going to Paris for a few days in May to watch our son, a college student, compete in an international sports competition to take place near the Eiffel Tower. I haven’t been to Paris in years and I need a recommendation for a hotel or B&B.

We’re not looking for luxury. Don’t need a doorman, pool, gym, spa, or 3-star restaurant. Just a clean, quiet room with a croissant and a cup of coffee in the morning.

Centrally located would be nice, but we’re comfortable using the Metro and we don’t mind a location in the outlying districts. It’s just for Mr. Montdore and me - Montdore Junior is staying with the other athletes in university housing.

Any suggestions? Thanks! :slight_smile:

I’m no Paris expert, but a friend & I stayed at the Hotel Raspaille a few years ago and it was nice.

I used
www.parisbandb.com
a few years back and had a great experience. Wound up staying in what was basically the spare room in a chic apartment on the Seine. Sweet old lady living there pointed us to all the good places to eat, shop, etc. instead of touristy sites.

It was cheaper than most hotels, too.

I’ve found very good deals in several European cities using HRS . Can’t remember if I used it for Paris, though.

Back in late 2005, we stayed at the Hotel Rivoli… 19 rue de Rivoli (I remember that because our cab driver did not speak a word of English, and we could only count to 20 in French, so we really lucked out there).

It was nice, clean, close to lost of things. We walked to the Louvre, and and Notre Dame Cathedral… there was a nice little shopping area close by, and easy walks to two Metro stations. There was nothing outstanding about the rooms, but we figured it was really only a place to sleep, if we had nothing better to do while in Paris than sit around our hotel room, something was seriously wrong.