Recommend me some Spanish films

Recently I’ve picked up Spanish as a new language. It’s self-study, so no contact with other Spanish speakers. Lessons are progessing smoothly, but I noticed that spoken Spanish is very different to written Spanish. The Spanish swallow al lot of letters and syllables and I really need some practice with the spoken language.

So I’m looking for films or series that I can watch that help me get a grip of the language. Preferably not a movie with too much street language (i.e. a Spanish equivalent of a Quentin Tarantino movie might not help me very much).
Also, if someone can recommend me some literature for a beginner, that’s helpful too.

I can’t really tell whether they’ll help you learn very well - I’m not that good at Spanish myself - but there’s Pedro Almodóvar’s films, such as Hable con Ella, I’d recommend those. I find that at my very basic level of Spanish I can typically follow the conversation fairly easily if there’s subtitles, and with slightly less ease (but still with at least some understanding) without them. Another film that (for me) falls in that category of understanding is El Mariachi (Robert Rodriguez).

From what I can see from IMDB, Hable con ella sounds beautiful. Thanks for that. Is el Mariachi later remade in English? Sounds familiar.

Rodriguez later made the much bigger films ‘Desperado’ and ‘Once Upon a time in Mexico’, which were in English, were sequels to El Mariachi and revolved around the same kind of theme, but instead of shooting in Spanish, with a low budget and using unknown actors, these later two films were in English with multi-million dollar budgets and with actors such as Johnny Depp and Antonio Banderas.

Another film that I enjoyed is Argentinian: Las Nueve Reinas. The Argentinian Spanish is harder to follow though.

If you want Spanish, look for ‘The Orphanage’, a slightly scary, very sad ghost story.