Scylla, I think you're wrong on this one.

Let me preface this by saying that while I am an extreme newbie, I have been lurking for a while. I have read and enjoyed many of Scylla’s posts. He is an extrodinary writer and a intelligent man. I have nothing but respect for him.

Scylla, you said something in this thread http://boards.straightdope.com/sdmb/showthread.php?threadid=67171 which really bothered me, and it comes up in my head when I see your posts. Obviously I’m overreacting, but I was in a similar situation once (on the other side) and it pissed me off to no end. And since everyone else gave you support and encouragment, I wanted to register a dissenting opinion.

Okay, your sister-in-law seems like a jerk, here and elsewhere in the thread.

But you just told her that you expect her to sacrifice her life for someone else’s child. In fact, you ordered her to. How does the fact that YOU decided to have children give YOU the right to make ANY decisions for other poeple, especially life-and-death decisions? As a parent, I understand that you may be willing to die in the place of your daughter, but if you told me to do so, I would be both shocked and angry.

I have no responsiblity to your child. I may choose to help you protect your offspring. I think it is morally correct for adults to help children whenever they can. I do not think it is correct for parents to assume that their child is more precious than anyone else, or that anyone else would think so. I’m tired of the attitude that all adults should be willing to give up life/freedomof speech/sex/etc… because some parent somewhere decided that their child could be hurt by these activities.