Should I try to get another interview, after stuffing up the first?

OK, so in a fit of indecision I am crowdsourcing my job hunt.

I’m currently looking for work (made redundant in mid Feb). In late Jan I applied for and got an interview with a company which it’s fair to say I completely stuffed up - not on my skills and ability to do the job per ce, but I referred to myself as a bit of a control freak (:smack:) and the interviewer took this to mean in relation to my staff management, which is actually not the case. I tend to hire people that I trust can do the job, and I’m pretty hands off really.

But damage done, and the next day the HR person calls to tell me that I don’t have the staff management experience they were wanting (it would be a national marketing manager role). I know I am a better manager than I implied, but I was thrown by the way he came into the question. Ah well, first interview for 7 years and I know to watch out for this next time.

During the interview, the hiring manager encouraged me to take the leap and accept the redundancy offer from my existing company, which I have done, telling me I wouldn’t regret it (I won’t, but not just because he told me to!)

Now, 8 weeks later, the company is still advertising the job (first on Linkedin, then on Seek, now on Linkedin again) suggesting that they can’t find the right person still.

I am still really keen on the job, and think I got off on the wrong foot, partly because of my flub (the rest of the interview went well, I was completely researched and prepared) and also because I don’t think his head was in the game at the time - it was during a 20-stop roadshow for him, he hadn’t read the JD or my CV and was pretty clearly not prepared for the interview.