So, I've become a lady with a certain reputation.

It seems to have started with a coworker who I will call Guenivere. I gave her a massage week before last, deep tissue, neck and shoulders, plus some heavy work on the deltoids. The next day, she was raving to our Fearless Leader (the owner of our little massage studio) that it was the best deep-tissue massage she had ever had. Mind you, this is an experienced therapist, who, by virtue of trading work, has gotten a lot of massage from a lot of people.

So, Grineldehyde overhears Guenivere raving about my astounding massage abilities, and decides she wants to swap work with me. I happily agree, spend an hour on her rhomboids, traps and rotator cuffs. Next day, she was, like totally intimidated and afraid to work on me. Said I’m a way better therapist than she is (I’ve been in the biz four and a half months, Grineldehyde three years). She had nothing to worry about, really, she gave me a great massage.

So, how’d I get to be so good at deep tissue work? Well, remember Guenivere, the one who was raving to the Fearless Leader? She had worked on me the week before, and I stole some of her chops. Yep, she was basically raving on and on about the wonderfulness of her own massage techniques, which I lifted and am now applying on coworkers and clients alike.

So, now, my coworkers who previously had been too busy to trade massage with me are taking numbers to be worked on my me, and happy to work on me in return (which means more opportunities for me to steal other therapists’ chops)