So. "The Karate Kid." Is the karate all bullshit or what?

All that wax on, wax off, paint fence. paint house, crane style, toy drum business. Any actual karate there or is it all nonsense?

Ralph Macchio is gonna kick your ass.

Well, thats not the way I was taught, but no…not all BS. The wax on/off thing is pretty classic blocking (the way I was taught you cross your arms, one fist/arm pointed down the other up…the upper fist/arm circles down, the lower one circles up. Sort of a two-fer wax on wax off I guess). Paint the fense looks more like one of the southern Chinese styles than Okinawa (I studied Kempo Jitsu myself), but I suppose it would work ok for blocking…I’m used to a more circular down block where the arm swings across the body and ends parallel to the forward bent knee (its hard to describe in words). Crane style is real enough…I don’t go for that sort of thing myself mind you. Toy drum…well, attacking and defending with circular motions is real enough…its not a big mystery either.

Mind you, I seriously doubt anyone could learn karate quickly with these methods (certainly not fast enough to win a tournament, let alone fight to the death). Not that you could learn karate fast any way, and I suppose the idea was to build muscle memory in old Danial-san…but its not just about putting your arms up in a certain way…its about angles, zones of defense, reflexes, etc. You really need to have someone swinging at you several thousand times before you get exactly WHEN to block or strike…you don’t just get that from painting a fence.

-XT

According to my S.O., when she “Karate Kid II” watched during its Japan release, the audience started laughing when everyone brought out those mini-drum toys. She said those things are just for kids to play with.

Stick your head inside the door of an urban dojo, scream your worst insult and dare someone to come out and fight you.

watch Fred Ettish fight in the UFC.

that stuff works.