Soliciting advice as to ring fit from long time wedding band wearers

We have got our wedding bands from the goldsmith’s for trying out the fit - they said they (14 ct) can be easily resized a size or two. There is time for that - we’ll only wear them in earnest in two months’ time.

Mine definitely needs widening (only got it off again after a few hours’ wearing with cold water and a spoon of salad oil), but I dont’ really know if I should go up one half or one size (apparently metric ring size = internal circumference in mm).

My fingers are only moderately fleshy (the joints are significantly wider than where the ring sits, but a ring that goes over the joint still sits only moderately loose on the finger.

I am a deskbound engineer so considerations of safety and antisepsis are not really relevant. I do not sail anymore either.

So I’d like to ask people with more experience about what fit they perfer.

1. With straight fingers: do you prefer a snug but not tight fit, or a fit where the ring can tilt a bit?

2. When clenching the fist tightly, or firmly grasping something: do you prefer not feeling the ring at all, feeling it a bit, or is a bit of discomfort OK?

1. tilt a bit
  2. feeling a bit

Also, remember - your finger changes size depending on the temperature, shrinking when it’s cold (as I presume it is where you are now) and expanding when it’s hot. If you had to resort to such heroic measures in cold weather or indoor AC to get the ring off, then it is way too small, IMO.

I don’t wear a wedding ring, but do wear a chunky class ring. Probably similar issues:

1. You do not want it snug. It should be small enough to not easily slip over the knuckle, but between knuckle and base it should be a bit floppy.

2. You want to only barely feel it when making a fist.

(basically, I guess I’m agreeing with galen ubal)