Thanks "Team"

Thanks “Team”

Every member of my office team gets a card and a cake or some savoury nibbles on their birthday. We usually take a little time-out from work in the afternoons to say “Happy Birthday” whilst people wander over from other departments to chat and nibble for a while. It’s nothing major, just a nice little tradition to let people feel valued and that they’re part of the team. The only problem is that I’ve been working in this office for four years now, and not once has anyone ever done anything like this for me.

In fact I’ll bet you any amount of money you like that they’ll forget my birthday is this weekend - the same way they’ve forgotten every year. There’ll be no fucking card or cake for me at all, even though everyone else on the “team” gets theirs on their birthday. I know it’s a pathetic thing to get upset about, but not once during that whole time have I even had so much as a fucking card or an email. I honestly don’t think any of them even give a toss.

I have no idea why this is still bothering me so much now. It’s not like this has been unexpected and perhaps I should have made a proper stink about it the first time, but I’m not going to bring it up because that would frankly make me seem petty and small, so instead I’m going to rant, bitch and moan about it here because I’m in a bad mood.

So thanks “Team”. Thanks for making me feel like a funtional appendage rather than one of the gang. Thanks for not inviting me join you for lunch when you saunter out to the cafe across the road. Thanks for not taking the time or effort to actually make me feel included. I’m just going to enjoy my birthday with family this weekend and be thoroughly spoiled and treated to all the little things I like.