The Q-ray metal band of complete and willful ignorance.

This metal band is great! I put it all and all of my aches and pains disappear! It’s like magic only it’s scientific! How does it work? I dunno, I’m not a scientist – just as long as it’s all natural! It balances my ions! I’m an idiot and I’m on TV!

The above taken verbatim from a telethon long commercial that I’m too lazy to get up and change. Well, all of it except the I’m an idiot part. That was inferred.

You forgot “It’s so revolutionary! It has a U.S. patent! No one has ever come up with a design like this!”
Maybe it’s because no one is that stupid. I’m also pretty sure that your body could care less about “balanced” ions. And they never did explain where it “pulls in” the ions from.

Why are products like these even allowed to be sold?

Shit. And here I thought Biggirl was going to lay the smack down on some White Power hard rock band.

Well, your body does “care about balanced ions” but is quite capable of balancing them on its own.

I want to know how the thing works before I try it. and it says there’s no proof that it works. besides the dolts they had shown…

The beautiful thing about capitalism and an open market is that you can sell utterly worthless crap and people will line up 10 deep to buy it off you.

The sad, scary thing about human nature is that you can sell utterly worthless crap and people will line up 10 deep to buy it off you.

I’m all for being able to sell whatever the hell you want. I have the stock, if I had the skill I’d be selling people little paper sacks of dog poop.

But all this is neither here nor there. I look at dubious “medical” devices in the same way ecologists look at changing weather patterns. If enough people die without issue because some guy on tv hocking scrap metal told them not to bother with all that Western-style medicine, then I for one consider the gene pool to have been vastly improved.