Thread column not sized right on phone

I’m using a Samsung S21, and for a while I’m having trouble that the display width for threads does not match my screen size. The browser header is correct, but the StraightDope banner and menu is narrower than the browser column. It means text at default display is too small to read comfortably, and the thread has blank space to the right.

But when I open a reply, the reply box is wider than the column display text. So if I enlarge the column to use the full width of the screen, the reply box runs off the side of the page. If I size the display to fit the reply box, the text is smaller than I want to comfortably read.

In short there is a mismatch between the thread width and the reply window width.

Anybody else seeing this? Is there a fix?

On my iPhone everything looks good, same as always.

All is still fine on my S22.

Turn off panoramic view.

(I have no real knowledge, I often reset to reconfigure stuff because I accidentally pushed something on, restarting or resetting sets everything back to where my default is)

So I restarted my phone and it’s working properly now. But I know I’ve restarted my phone before. Oh well, I’ll see how long this works.

Yay!
I don’t remember who, but someone once told me always try restarting first.

Ok, FYI, it is now doing the problem again. I this thread right now.

I’m thinking it has to have something to do with zooming the screen in and out to aid reading. It could also have something to do with trying to select text in a thread to quote. On fact, I’m leaning more that way.

I need a better solution than restarting my phone every time this occurs.

[Edited - solution, not skunk. I don’t need a skunk, much less a better one.]

Possibly it is a miscuing between trying to use the Discourse quote feature and the screen zoom occurring.