UCLA shooting: student kills prof over grades

Ho, hum, another campus shooting, this time at my alma mater (MA, PhD).

New wrinkle: the student apparently killed his professor over his grades.

As someone who has taught his share of ridiculously entitled university students, and who has the battle over grades at least once a semester, usually more, this absolutely freaks me out.

I’m not sure of the student’s plan here; does he think perhaps the substitute and/or TA they hire to finish up the prof’s work for the year will somehow come to a different conclusion re: grades?

I too find it scary. As a grad student, I was physically threatened by a pre-med student in the class I was TAing. Apparently he thought it was a good way to improve his grades instead of the actual result, chucked out of school. If he’d had a gun, though, and was slightly more deranged than he was, who knows what would have happened.

Guns kill people.

Incredibly sad. The 39 y.o prof was described as being brilliant and kind. I’m kinda glad the killer turned the gun on himself. It’ll save the taxpayers millions in trial costs & the cost of supporting him in prison for life. I heard earlier on the news that a note was left at the scene. Will be interesting to learn the details.

I was a student there when this happened.

I didn’t know any of the people involved, but I did recognize the three professors by sight, having taken physics the previous semester. My instructors were not injured (physically, anyway). There’s a book about it called “Deadly Scholarship” which is OK as true-crime books go.

I would guess it’s not a plan to reverse the grade, but to get revenge on the professor who has “ruined his life” (although as most of us college grads know, even failing a class is not that detrimental to a successful career, so long as you accept that a successful career is not always the one you planned on when you were a freshman).