Urgh--I hate my job

When I graduated last summer (on the 20-year plan), I was sick to death of school and sick to death of being a secretary. Since I had been working for several years working with a bunch of social workers and former Child Protective Service workers, it seemed natural to go work for CPS.

The original plan was to change jobs and take a semester off before starting teacher certification classes. I quickly realized that there was no way I’d have the time to do teacher certification. I also went through a period where I loved, loved, loved my job.

Oy, is the honeymoon ever over!

I’ve been there for 7-1/2 months now. I have enough overtime leave banked that I could take more than 3 weeks off without having to touch my vacation leave.

I can’t take a day off unless I’m current (fewer than 5 delinquent cases). That is more difficult than you may think. I could be about ready to get a case closed out when the parent(s) go psycho and it ends up requiring more time. Or the families who move from place to place to place each time I find them, so that months could go by without my managing to see the kids. Or I just need one more bit of information, but getting it is like pulling teeth.

And if I do get current and take a day off, I will have to go in over the weekend anyway, so what good does it do to take a day off? I know this, because I took off last Friday in honor of Harry Potter, and had to go in on Sunday. Also, when I take time off, I feel guilty because of the work I know isn’t getting done, and the families on my caseload. Which means my vacation in August is going to be really fun. Not.

I haven’t gotten a full night’s sleep in quite some time, but this week’s been really bad. I wake up at 1:30 and can’t get back to sleep until 3:30 or later. I forestalled it last night by watching “Hair” until 1:30. I did sleep the rest of the night, but it was not a restful sleep.