Vasectomy consent form

This thread http://boards.straightdope.com/sdmb/showthread.php?threadid=111973

Got me to thinking. When I had my snip job 2 years ago, the doctor made me sign a consent form. The form indicated that the procedure was permanant and not considered reversable, and would leave me completely sterile. Fine. Good. That’s what I wanted. I signed.

But the form also had a space for my wife to sign, and the doctor mandated that she sign it, in his presence, before he would perform the operation. My question is, why did I need her permission for this, when she would not need my permission for an abortion? Is this consent form a legal document? Is the doctor required to get the wifes signature?

I hope it was just the doc’s policy, and not some kind of law. A marriage ceritificate shouldn’t sign over half-ownership of your vas defrens.

If it is a law, it almost certainly wouldn’t survive Constitutional challenge. (I’m studying for my Con Law exam right now, in fact. I’m thinking of the case where widowers had more burden of proof to collect survivor’s benefits, but since I can’t remember the name of that case, I’m going to get off the SDMB and get back to work.)

From what Mighty Maximino says, it sounds like the doc was just covering his own tuchus. I could see a scenario where a guy goes in, undergoes the ribbon cutting ceremony, then his wife, who wants the option of more children, sues the doctor because she never consented, her husband went behind her back, and the doctor participated. I don’t know if it would stand up in court (no ten inpunded), but the doctor would still have to spend the money and time to defend himself, and it looks bad. Better he should take the precaution of having the wife sign in his presence prior to breaking out the weed wacker.

As it happens, I’m going to be inquiring about the above procedure this summer. I’ll be interested in seeing if the doctor requires Mrs. Dave-Guy’s written consent.