Wait...Randy Travis is experiencing a downward spiral into drunkeness and despair? Randy Travis?!!

He was ass naked, plowed his car into a construction zone, and threatened to shoot the troopers who responded?

I mean, this is Randy Travis. I’m not an expert on the guy, but I always thought he was just a wholesome guy who played plain vanilla country music, the kind of music that country radio just eats up. But apparently he was a drunken delinquent as a lad, hooked up with his much older wife (and manager, and supposedly his beard according to one rumor), who steered him towards success, but has now left him, which seems to have completely unhinged him and sent him spiraling towards the George Jones Zone.

This just strikes me as odd. I’m trying to think of another performer as bland and inoffensive as Randy Travis whose life melted down publicly, and I can’t.

Here he is leaving jail in his paper suit after some fans bailed him out:

Glen Campbell?

Pffft. This is babyshit compared to the exploits of Hank Williams, George Jones, Johnny Cash, et al…

ETA: OK none of those guys were ever considered bland, but it’s true that many, many country stars who’s public image was fairly wholesome led their lives entirely differently…

Well, duh! They pander to their bible thumpin’, god-fearing, religious right audience, it’s all a smokescreen. I suppose a few are ‘decent’, but a whole lot of c&w types are no different from Aerosmith or Def Leppard behind the scenes as soon as they get enough money to buy loads of coke, hookers and booze. Watch - Randy Travis will go dry out after this, and tearfully thank Jesus for showing him The Way. It might get him a People magazine cover!

The only thing I was thinking when I heard this story was, “Wow!, Randy Travis drives a 14-yr old Pontiac?” :eek:

All the elements are there to make a pretty good song someday.