Waiting for Superman...go see this movie if

you are in school, have ever gone to school, have kids in school, have ever had kids in school, may ever have kids in school, think education is important at all…or for that matter just want to go see the most depressing movie of the year if not the decade.

it may just be me and where I am at this point in my life, but I was close to tears more than once and no I dont cry at the movies.
spoilers later but not just yet, although its a documentary not fiction so I am not sure of that really matters.

I am a professional educator. Take that movie with a liberal grain of salt.

soooo have you seen or are you planning on seeing the movie?
does the fact that you are in the field somehow make you an expert on whats wrong?
(or for that matter do you honestly believe nothing is really wrong with public education?)
I have several relatives in the field and a few of my friends are also teachers. it seems to be a universal opinion that things are broken and in serious need of fixing. the issue of tenure is one I have heard from most of them as a serious complaint, including one woman who cannot get full time work in spite of her obvious talent in the field. She gets compliments on her skills and has been told more than once that she has a job once one of the crappy teachers she is subbing for leaves or retires…getting them fired is so often not possible.

I learned a lot from this flick, and I am personally offended by anyone in the field who is just getting through the day looking for a paycheck or worse active dislikes working with kids but refuses to go find another job.

anyway I am 90% asleep right now, going back to bed.

I’m a teacher and I have not yet seen the movie, but will eventually.

Oh, we had a thread about this a long time ago. October 9. :wink:

Took me 2 seconds to search for. :slight_smile:

Waiting for Superman

In that thread, someone linked to this article.

What Superman got wrong